top of page

And So It Goes OM

Three nauseating days of aches and pains thinking I have Aussie flu or a recurrence of my ME, with a grand finale of what can only be described as an oversized anxiety attack and, bingo, another antibiotic to add to my list of allergic reactions. I’ve ordered medic alert bracelets as per instruction from an allergist; I’ve had to order 2 of them as it wouldn’t all fit on one! That was prior to this latest episode where I have to admit I was starting to think the worst, again.  

Anyhow, waiting for scan results from last Fridays UTI ultrasound to be the decided on whether my partial knee replacement were to go ahead, my Dad and I head in to London yesterday, packed up for a 3 night stay and new bionic implants. Oh man, another day of nil by mouth. My poor stomachs’ started to think my throats been cut! 

The forms to be filled in definitely took the pleasure away from spending some quality time with my poor Dad as we were accompanied by the clinical trials lady for nearly 3 hours- only to discover upon waking from surgery that the bone was too far shot to have the damn implant anyway! So seriously scraped and re sculptured patella and meniscus I wait to hear the next steps available for my poor left knee. That can be the title of my Next blog, I’m sure someone got away with ‘My Left Foot?’ 

But I’m here, in Hospital, and the results are faxed through from Fridays US. The differential may include diverticula, endometrial deposit or, wait for it, melanotic deposit. Ding dong!!!! The old alarm bells chime, again! At least having seen said mass, I don’t think it looks like a nasty, but I guess I’ll leave the confirmation of findings up to those in the know. 

So today, in Hospital, with knee dressed up like a fancy dress leg injury with all the trimmings, I will at some point be wheeled into a scanner for ‘further investigations.’ Lab rat now requiring a name I feel. 3 hours sleep I’ve managed since my general- and the nerve block didn’t take either. I’m the only person I know who feels super sparky after the drugs that are supposed to make you sleepy. I better not be accountable for any of the bollocks that I may have written mind you, but I am grateful for the time to do so at 5am. I thank you all for sharing my adventures, I mean it. It keeps them from being confined in my own head tearing at my soul. 🧘‍♀️🙏🏻 

AND my Virgin Giving Page is nearing £1500! So incredibly humbled and touched my everyone’s generosity to OcuMelUK. Thank you again. (Link available on my site) 


bottom of page