top of page

ONE MORE SLEEP!

With just one more sleep to go I am still overwhelmed and slightly shellshocked by the last nine months events which have led to tomorrow’s Gala fundraiser at the Waldorf Hotel in London! Wow! What a journey. From thinking on the 28th of November 2017 that my life was going to be changed for ever when I was diagnosed with such a rare and orphaned cancer, I never once imagined that so many positives could come from the largest negative statement that any person or family wishes to hear. If nothing else, organising this Gala with the support of the lovely ladies at OcuMel UK, has certainly taken my mind away from the horrific reality that is ocular melanoma.

Referring back to the disease itself – following on from my most recent surgery some four weeks ago now- I am pleased to report that I now have a sensible sized letterbox opening type shape of clear vision from my left eye. They cut the muscle and stabilised the eyeball to a more central section in its' socket, therefore alleviating some of the double vision I was experiencing and definitely helping with extreme headaches and nausea that accompanied the permanent feeling of being mildly stoned in one eye. I still have what feels like a shoelace (stitch) holding it all in place!

Again I do believe that the positivity, courage and strength that I, and other sufferers of ocular melanoma that I’ve been fortunate enough to connect with, will be what eventually leads us to find a cure in sight. If you’ll pardon the pun, that is actually one of our linked charities. The more we talk about it, the more we share our experiences and the more awareness that is raised of our condition, someone somewhere somehow will find a cure! I am certain of that. Things are progressing so fast in medicine that it is only a matter of time, for some it will be too late, and that saddens me every day. But, for some of us I have to hope that it will be discovered in time.

Things at home have been somewhat crazy for the last couple of weeks. I have signed guitars, signed boxing Gloves, signed pictures, 2000 googley eyes, an oil painting, a framed Arsenal goalkeeping glove and various other paraphernalia that has been so generously donated by friends and former colleagues over the years. We have put together an incredible film that will be aired at the Gala and then made available across social media platforms to give you an insight into what is needed. My skills as a make-up artist have expanded to production, and I'm very proud of them I have to admit.

I think Greg and the children will be over the moon when the Gala has finished as I may resume some more usual daily activities and remove the increasing pile of boxes from our hallway. They have all helped make this possible by supporting me from my crazy idea 6 months ago, to making suggestions on the numerous re-edits that I've put my godfather through (thank you Terry!) and then finally deciding what to wear. And the horrendous amount of time I have spent on my phone whilst cooking dinner and helping with homework- I hope I'm forgiven??

If you are reasonably new patient reading this, as I know there are a few of you out there, please find some positivity in what has happened to you. I certainly don’t believe that I was meant to have cancer in my life, but I do believe that I was meant to create a change and that having the diagnosis of this rare cancer has certainly brought that to light. I am making a difference, I am creating change, it has changed me – and for that I am grateful. 


bottom of page